Sunday Shares

We are already in April– but can summer be here yet?  I miss swimming and my summer husband–that guy who comes around every June to stay up late watching TV with me all summer.

Here are some things that are making my winter brighter:

1.) This lipstick. It’s my all-time favorite right now.  Okay, I think LipSense lipsticks are pretty, but I can’t justify spending $25 on lipstick..sorry! This tube was $6 when I bought it, and it lasts pretty long.  The trick is to put it on and let it sit for 2 minutes before applying the gloss. The cocoa color is a throwback to the 90s, but it has some pink in it that makes it really subtle and pretty.

2.) Tim Ferriss everything.  Last month, I had Tools of Titans waiting for me at the library, and I didn’t remember I had put it on hold.  It is amazing! In fact, my mom started flipping through it while she was babysitting, and she bought it right away (okay, that is kinda characteristic of my mom but…). It is a giant book full of notes he has taken when interviewing hundreds of different celebrities and entrepeneurs that details their tools of success down to their favorite books and what they eat for breakfast.  Reading about others’ daily lives is one of my all-time favorite things, so this book is awesome.  I recently started listening to his podcast, The Tim Ferris show, and it is just as great.  In fact, most of the Tools of Titans interviews are extensions from his podcasts.  He is very inspiring and engaging.

3.) The Sorta Awesome podcast. Speaking of podcasts, I am loving this one. I listen to it at the gym.  The topics are all really interesting and inspiring, and the hosts are just FUN to listen to.  Their discussions are really timely and educating.  They also have a SortaAwesome Facebook hangout group (which is like having hundreds of women to ask advice of) and a spin-off SortaAwesome literary Facebook group for book recommendations.

4.) Judy Blume books.  I loved the Fudge books this year, so I was so excited to introduce them to my kids.  We have listened to the first two on audiobooks while driving to our various lessons, and we all enjoy them so much.  So grateful for library Overdrive for access to free audiobooks.

5.) We needed a book for March for book club, so I suggested the Scarlet Pimpernel, which is one of my all-time favorites.  I was surprised to find that no one in our group had read it yet, as it is a classic and one of my all-time favorite books.  I don’t generally re-read books, but I am loving reading it a second time.  It is actually so much better, because I know how everything is resolved and how the characters will change–so I am enjoying it a lot.  It really is a love story ultimately. It has also gotten me to research the Reign of Terror–and holy nightmares!–but it is all so interesting.

6.) How to make soy candles. I realize that I have been paying $12 per soy candle, but making them is so much cheaper! This post from Alicia Hutchinson breaks it all down.  I love how she spent one quiet time making a huge stash of candles for her family.  Now, I know that beeswax candles are healthier and purify your air, but beeswax just isn’t in my budget right now!

7.) Sufjan Stevens’s Holy Holy Holy is a beautiful song for the Sabbath. Oh Sufjan, why are you so awesome?! You keep surprising me–you are kind of crazy, but also a genius?

8.) Murder on the Orient Express narrated by Dan Stevens. Are.You.Kidding.Me. I am not a big audiobook fan–I am super picky about the narrators–but this one is changing my mind.  This classic murder mystery is narrated by Dan Stevens (aka the Beast aka Matthew Crawley aka Legion), and he is amazing. His accents are perfect–Texan, American woman, French, British and more.  I usually listen at the gym, and I find myself working out a lot more just so that I can keep listening. Bonus: I downloaded the audiobook for free on my library’s Overdrive app.

9.) Nurture by Nature. This book is changing my life.  It is all about parenting according to your children’s Meyers-Briggs personality profiles.  I have read a lot about different personality types, but Meyers-Briggs is the most thorough that I found.  I bought this book used for $3 in order to understand my quirky 5 year old, but I have learned so much about myself and my entire family and how to communicate better with them.  I am on my 3rd week of intently studying this book–it needs its own blog post! Best $3 I have ever spent!

10.) Samurai Gourmet on Netflix.  This 18 minute show about a newly-retired Japanese man is so cute and calming.  It features really short, cute themes and close-up shots of Japanese cooking.  My kids beg for this show, and I only have to read a little of the subtitles for them to get what is going on.  This show makes me happy!

What have you been loving lately?

 

 

Leave a Reply

